1952 McGill Winkies

Year Inducted: 2008

The 1952 McGill Coal & Heating Co. “Winkies” were the first ever Little League champions of the Port Huron Little League inaugural season.  The team posted a 13 win, 5 loss regular season record, winning the four team American League Title.  They then won 3 of 4 games against the four team National League champion, M.E.R.A., to take the city championship.

The team was managed by Merle “Punk” O’Rourke with Coaches Al Kuschel and Bob Kuschel.

The players were S. Keith “Chip” Bankson, Bill Barr, Jerry Barr, Roger “Skip” Cohoe, Jim Howe, Mickey Korieba, John Lapish, Ron Mason, Dave McElroy, Joe Platzer, Ron Russell, Dick Symon, Bob Spencer, Ron Stine, Seth Turner and Herb Winter.  And the batboy was Ron Barr.