1958 Port Huron Braves Baseball Team

Year Inducted: 2003

In 1958 the Port Huron Braves were the best of the 9 team, 7 city Latin American League.  The teams were the Flint Cardinals, Flint Pirates, Mt. Clemens Latinos, Pontiac Aztecas, Ponitac Los Mayas, Capac Tigers, Allington Yaquis, Imaly City Tigers and the Port Huron Braves.   The Braves were 13 -2 in the regular season and won the two game playoffs against the Pontiac Los Mayas and Pontiac Aztecas, the latter in a 7 – 0 shellacking in the Playoff Championship game.  Lefty Joe Warholic earned the shut-out twirling a three hitter.

The Braves consisted of a wonderful mixture of black players, white players and Latin players.  A league rule required a minimum of 5 Latin players to be on the field for each team at all times.  All contributed in batting ability, speed, pitching prowess or fielding skill in many combinations.  Defensively the team was superb.

The players were:  Ramon Almandarez, Jerry Alexander, Charlie Cook, Ralph Fernandez, Joe Herrera, John Martinez, Charlie Morris, Tony Navarette, Julian Ramirez, Domingo Ruiz, Vic Ruiz, Charlie Russell, Ray Saari, John Savedra, Lindell Streeter, Andy Valls, Frank Vizi, Joe Warholic, Dave Winfield, Sponsor – Steve Brody.

Jerry Alexander, a Port Huron Sports Hall of Fame member won the league batting title with a .486 average on the 1958 Port Huron Braves, a team to be remembered.