1976-77 SC4 Lady Skippers Basketball Team

Year Inducted: 2002

Stars crossed paths?  Occasionally an outstanding coach and a group of outstanding players cross paths and weave a fairy tale season.

Such is the case of the 1976-77 Lady Skipper Basketball Team from St. Clair County Community College.  Jacqueline “Jackie” Jeffrey was the coach.  The players were Nancy DeNardin, Beth Hicks, Deb Ledford, Sue Francisco, Laurie Nolan, Elizabeth Bailey, Nancy Hall, Theresa Gardocki, Robin Stewart, Jill Thomas, Martha Moore and Diane Jedzmir.  Their fast breaking, full-court pressing frenetic style of play took them to places of their dreams.

In the regular MJCAA season they were conference champions with an overall record of 18-4 (one conference loss – the other three looses were to four year schools).  They won the MJCAA State Tournament with three wins – no losses;  the Region XII Tournament with four wins – no losses and placed 8th in the National Junior College Basketball Tournament in Overland Park, Kansas with a two win two loss record.  Nancy DeNardin was named to the Junior College All-American Team and Coach Jeffery was named Region XII coach of the year.  Laurie Nolan was named to the National Tournament Team and DeNardin, Nolan and Deb Ledford were named to the All State Team.

This team averaged 77 points a game, outscored opponents by an average of 27 points and scored over 100 points in four games.  They earned their place in the Port Huron Sports Hall of Fame.