1991-92 Port Huron High School Hockey Team

Year Inducted: 2010

The 1991-1992 Port Huron High Big Reds Hockey Team was the definition of a true team. Everyone knew their roles and per­formed them according to plan. From early morning practices to team dinners together, the Big Reds became a very strong team relying on each other to be the very best that they could be.

This team concept worked well for the Big Reds as they rolled to a school record 21 wins, 4 losses, and 2 ties. The Big Reds skated through the State Regional and Quarter Final games by a combined score of 35 goals for and only 5 against.

The group of 10 seniors, 7 juniors and 3 sophomores used solid goaltending and strong defense along with patient and consistent play to throw their competition off game after game. This style of play took them to the State Semi-Finals where the Big Reds lost to eventual state champion, Birmingham Brother Rice,

1-0 in overtime.

For their hard work, dedication to team, and success on the ice the Class “A” semifinalist Big Reds of 1991-1992 rank as one of the best high school hockey teams to come out of Port Huron.

Players identified in the photo:

Front Row L-R: Matt Feher, Sean Truskowski, David Roberts, Jim Spadafore, Nate Johnston, John Keyser, Mike Bassett

Middle Row L-R: Ben Pionk, Morris Hall, Arnold Brown, Tony Wyrembelski, Matt Scheffler, Jerry Ward, Jason Ballor

Back Row L-R: Erich Huegli, Chad Wetzel, Roger Fox, Travis McIntyre, John Spadafore, Jason Hills

Coaches L-R: Tom Miller, Jim Bannatyne

Missing from photo: Coaches Ron Brickey, Dave Heino and Greg Wagner