Glenn Clay Johnson - Tennis

Year Inducted: 1993

Glenn Johnson has been one of the best tennis players in the Port Huron area, as well as the entire State of Michigan during the last 20-25 years.   He has won countless tournaments as both a junior and adult player.

At age 14, Glenn ranked number three in the Southeastern Michigan Tennis Association (SEMTA) and number 23 in the Western Tennis District.  At age 16, he ranked number one in SEMTA;  at age 17, he ranked number two in SEMTA and number 26 in the Western Tennis District;  at age 18, he ranked number one in SEMTA and number 8 in the Western Tennis District.

Glenn Johnson played as number one for four years at Port Huron High School.  During those four years, he lost only 10 matches.  During his senior year, Glenn never lost a duel match.  He got to the semi-finals in the State Tournament as a junior and lost in the quarter-finals as a senior.  Glenn Johnson was selected and played on the prestigious Junior Davis Cup Team two years in a row.  He played number one singles the second year on the team.   Both years, the team placed third.

Glenn Johnson played number one for four years for Bowling Green State University.  He made the All-MAC team for three years.   During his senior year, he and his partner were number one in the doubles flight at the MAC tournament.

Glenn Johnson’s Robinson Tournament record is nothing short of unbelievable.   He won 21 singles titles, with 16 in consecutive years.

Glenn Johnson has always been a fierce competitor who has never given up.  He has always displayed class and talent both on and off the court.  He has been a model for all young people to follow, and he has won a number of sportsmanship awards.   At age 18, Glenn Johnson won the Jean Hoxie Award for Sportsmanship, named for Jean Hoxie who was a great tennis coach in Hamtramck, Michigan.  He won Port Huron High School’s Schultz Award for sportsmanship and success in athletics three years in a row.  Glenn has also won the Robinson Sportsmanship Award and the Junior Davis Cup Sportsmanship Award.