John M. Hazely

Year Inducted: 1983

John Hazely was inducted into the Wayne State Hall of Fame in February,1983, having earned seven letters in football and baseball.  Playing from 1946 to 1949, he led Wayne State in rushing and total offense for three straight years.  He is number 4 on their all-time rushing list.  He is number 2 all-time for punt returns, scored 21 touchdowns, kicked 40 extra points (No. 4 in all-time).  He ranks number 2 on the Wayne all-time list with his 166 point total and his 15 pass interceptions.   He had 216 yards in run backs.  John also played baseball at Wayne and upon graduation he became coach of both sports at Mumford High School in Detroit.

At Port Huron High School, John excelled in football, basketball, and baseball, gaining League honors in each one.  His unique leadership qualities gave him the honor of being football captain in both his junior and senior years.  He is the only athlete in Port Huron’s history to have had that responsibility.  He was also captain of the basketball team in his senior year, according to his coach, Harry Anderle, giving the basketball team a steadying influence.

In the single wing offense, John was the left halfback; called the signals; did the passing; and in one game (on the coach’s orders) he carried the ball on every offensive play.  John is remembered as an outstanding athlete and leader, and is admired by his peers and fellow students.

An example of John’s determination can be found in an unfortunate accident which occurred in his senior year of high school.  In the first game of the season, played at the old Grand Trunk field, John got away for a long run.  He stepped into a hole in the field.  This not only brought him down, but also severely sprained his ankle.  He was on crutches for a number of weeks, but on game day he insisted on taping his ankle and playing.  He never missed a game and gained honorable mention All-State honors while playing with his injured ankle.

John’s brother, Booker, was inducted into the Port Huron Sports Hall of Fame in 1979.